In business since 1996
- © Krause House Info-Research Solutions -




The Crimean Peninsula became part of the Russian Empire after a series of Russian-Turkish wars. In 1771, Crimean Khan Sahib II Giray gained independence from the Ottoman Empire thanks to Prince Vasily Dolgoruky, who had defeated the Turkish troops on the peninsula. The Khan signed an agreement on alliance and mutual assistance with St. Petersburg. And in 1774, the Ottomans completely abrogated their claims to Crimea, conceding them to Russia, by signing the Treaty of Küçük Kaynarca.

Nine years later, Giray’s reforms had angered the Crimean Tatars to the extent that he was forced to abdicate. In order to prevent a bloody power struggle, Russia was forced to send troops to the peninsula. The local nobility swore an oath to Empress Catherine II and received equal rights with the Russian nobility. They also took part in managing the newly created [c. 1783] Taurida Region, which existed until the collapse of the Russian Empire. And in 1791, as the result of another defeat, the Ottoman Empire signed the Treaty of Jassy, according to which Crimea belonged solely to Russia. Both the Jassy and Küçük Kaynarca agreements are internationally recognized and considered valid.

The revolutionary events of 1917 led to the collapse of the Russian Empire and the emergence of a number of pseudo-independent states on the territory of Ukraine: The Ukrainian People’s Republic centered in Kiev, the Ukrainian People’s Republic of Soviets centered in Kharkov, the Donetsk-Krivoy Rog Soviet Republic centered first in Kharkov and then in Lugansk, the Odessa Soviet Republic, and the Taurida Soviet Socialist Republic in Crimea and the Northern Black Sea region. But after the Central Council of Ukraine signed a separate agreement with the Austro-Hungarian Empire and the Kaiser of Germany, the entire territory of Ukraine and Crimea, which had never belonged to either Germanic country, was occupied by Austro-German troops. ...

In 1783, the Khanate of Crimea was annexed by Catherine the Great’s Russia. Soon after this the Taurida Oblast was established. During the reign of Paul I the oblast was abolished, but soon (in 1802) re-established as a governorate (guberniya). It was a part of the Russian Empire until the Russian Revolution of 1918. ...

The ancient Greeks set up settlements along the coast of Crimea in the 6th and 7th centuries and named the region Taurica after the Tauri people who lived there. The peninsula changed hands various times, falling under the Crimean Khanate, a Turko-Mongol vassal state of the Ottoman Empire from 1441 until 1783, when it was annexed by the Russian Empire under Catherine the Great. The name was Russified as the Taurida Oblast, a territory that also included parts of what are today southern Ukraine....

The exhibition presents signed on April 8, 1783, by Catherine the Second manifesto of Crimea and Kuban Taman joining to Russia. It was announced on June 28 during Crimean nobility’s oath to Russia. The manifesto assured Crimean residents "to keep them even with our native citizens, to protect and defend their persons, property, temples and their innate faith, piously and steadfast from the throne successors and ourselves".

Of great interest is the autograph of His Serene Highness Prince G. A. Potemkin-Tauride - the draft page of notes on the Tauris area development from 1784, which he submitted to the Empress Catherine the Second as Novorossiysk and Tauride governor. The notes contain his thoughts on the fortresses construction in Crimea. "The major and the only fortress is Sevastopol," - emphasizes His Serene Highness Prince.

Potemkin returned to St. Petersburg in November 1783 and was promoted to Field Marshal when the Crimea was formally annexed the following February. He also became President of the College of War.[61][62] The province of Taurida (the Crimea) was added to the state of Novorossiya (lit. New Russia). ...

The Molotschna Mennonite Settlement, located in the province of Taurida, Russia (now Zaporizhia Oblast in Ukraine), on the Molochnaya River, was the second and largest Mennonite settlement of Russia....,_Ukraine)



Taurida, New Russia, Little Russia (most of modern day Ukraine)



South Russia, Little Russia,_A.J._Europe._1864.D.South_Russia.jpg





Russia in Europe

Taurida, Sourg Russia, Little Russia, West Russia, Great Russia 





 New Russia, Little Russia 



Little Russia, White Russia, Great Russia



A J.G. Bartholomew Atlas published in 1912

Taurida, South Russia, Little Russia, West Russia, Great Russia






Taurida, Ukrine, European Russia



"White Russia, Great Russia, Little Russia, New Russia, East Russia, and Caucasia. The map shows the railway network with connections to western Europe and Asia ..."



Source: Larousse Universel published in 1923

Taurida, Ukraine, White Russia, Great Russia